My FIRST blog entry…excitement overwhelms me!

This is the first of what I hope will be many meanderings on this little blog that my good friend Kristi Z set me up with.  Her blog is really cool (of course most things she does are really cool…and yes, she will be reading this). 

Most of my thoughts will probably center around music or movies, and occasionally about whatever is on my mind.  I think my OFFICIAL first entry, other than this little introduction, will be a story that I wrote a couple of years ago about Elvis, and how much I miss him. 

You see, writing is my life.  I love to write.  If I were stranded on a desert island, I would write in the sand…then try to change the font.  Writing is for the times when I can’t talk to people, because talking is probably what I do best.  So when an idea pops into my head, and there is no one around to share it with verbally, I write about it. 

Unfortunately, I’ve gotten to the point in my life where I miss a lot of things.  That’s why I wrote about Elvis…’cause I miss him.  I didn’t know him, and never met him, but I miss him…a lot. 

So to whoever might read this, I hope you enjoy it, and feel free to make plenty of comments, even if they’re something like “geez Rick, even though I don’t agree with you, I also don’t even respect your opinion.”  Ok, maybe that’s a bit over the top, but you get the idea.

As Jackie Gleason said on many occasions, “And awayyyyyyy we go!”

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My FIRST blog entry…excitement overwhelms me!

  1. Kristi Zimmerman says:

    I can’t wait to read the Elvis story!!!! POST IT!

  2. Good luck with the blog, Groovyrick! I’m bookmarking it now!

  3. Sarah Martin says:

    Rick,

    I am now up to date on your blog and it is really fun! With all of the things I know about you, I did NOT know that writing was your life! So, without further ado, please keep the weekly writings coming….it is good reading.

    Love ya,

    S

    • groovyrick says:

      Thanks Sarah. When I went to pre-register for my first year at college, I majored in journalism because that’s the only class I got an A in my senior year.
      Ah, youth.
      Love to you too!

Leave a Reply

