Your life needs a soundtrack

I’ve watched enough movies and TV shows to know that they can be really boring without a soundtrack, complete with music and sound effects.  Who wants to watch “Rocky III” without hearing “Eye of the Tiger”?  How would you know that “Seinfeld” was switching to a different scene if you didn’t hear that popcorn-type bass music play for a couple of seconds?  And for God’s sake, would the 3 Stooges be nearly as funny if Moe was prying a nail out of Curly’s butt and you didn’t hear the sound of a huge nail creaking while being pried out of a huge board?

Face it, our lives need a soundtrack. I’ve always felt that way, ever since I was a kid.  When my brother and I would wrestle around in the living room, eventually one of us would start our “drama” music…you know, the kind that you would hear in a movie if two guys were fighting near the edge of a cliff.  I can’t really describe it here, but if you ask me about it, I can do it for you.

Today, I was talking to my good friend Melodie at work, and she was telling me all about her new car.  It’s an Acura, complete with a flip-down DVD entertainment system.  We’ve had the discussion about a soundtrack for our lives before, because she told me that she thought of me this morning when she was driving her son and his friend to school.  The boys were sitting in back watching “Top Gun”, and right as she was hugging the curve on an off-ramp, checking out the handling on her new vehicle, she heard a jet do a fly-by in the movie.  She thought it fit perfectly. 

Since we can’t always have sound effects at opportune times (unless we make them ourselves…”whoooooooosh”) we have to depend on music to complete the soundtrack of our lives.  The obvious connection is how the music we listen to at a certain time can reflect our mood.  If I’m in a sad mood, I listen to sad songs.  If I’m in a rocking mood, I listen to rocking songs.  Plus there are certain songs for certain occasions.  Back when I was in college, and I was on my way home for weekend on a Friday afternoon, as soon as I would hit the interstate I would play “Journey to the Center of the Mind” by the Amboy Dukes.  It just seemed to fit. Most of my friends will tell you that I love it when I’m in my car listening to a tune, and as soon as I get to my destination, the song ends…just like in the movies when they use a song to get you ready for the next scene.  Whether I’m pulling into a parking space at work or driving into my garage, it’s awesome when the music times out perfectly to end just as I’m putting the car in park. 

Here are a few suggestions for the music soundtrack for your life.  Remember, these are only suggestions to get you started in case you can’t come up with any on your own:

Working for the Weekend – Loverboy:  Perfect for charging out of the parking lot at work on a Friday afternoon.

The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys – Traffic:  Works very well for turning the lights down low on a Friday or Saturday evening and drinking a glass of wine or a cocktail…a lava lamp would fit perfectly.

The Last One of the Night People – Alliotta, Haynes, Jeremiah:  The same guys that gave us Lake Shore Drive turn in the perfect tune for heading home after a Saturday night party as the Sunday morning sun is rising. 

Early Beatles music:  For some reason, I always have the Fab Four in the background while cleaning house on a Saturday morning.

I Am Love – The Jackson Five:  I often listen to this as I’m driving to a gig or to a party…the way it builds really psyches me up for a night out.

Classical music:  Very nice and relaxing on a Sunday afternoon.

Well, there are a few ideas, but you really need to come up with some of your own…or just let it happen naturally.  I’m getting pretty tired, so it’s time to end this and go to bed (cue Brahm’s Lullaby on a music box).

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Your life needs a soundtrack

  1. “Alliotta, Haynes, Jeremiah”

    Jesus Christ I forgot all about those guys!

Leave a Reply

