You can quote me

There have been tons of famous quotes through time, most of them attributed to someone.  I have several quotes that are my favorites…many people do.  Personally, I want to be remembered for a quote…a famous quote.  I don’t know if I want it to be as serious as “Give me liberty or give me death”, or “Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country!”

Let me give you a few examples.  Some of these are famous quotes, some of these are lines from movies, some are song lyrics, but they’re among my favorites:

-“I would never join a club that would have me as a member.” – Groucho Marx

-“I’d trade all of my tomorrows for a single yesterday.” – Kris Kristofferson (from the song “Me and Bobby McGee”)

-“I ain’t nobody, dork.” – Harrison Ford (as Bob Falfa in American Graffiti)

-“History repeats itself, first as tragedy, second as farce.” – Karl Marx

-“You should always go to other people’s funerals, otherwise they won’t come to yours.” – Yogi Berra

-“No, but I’ve made up a few.” – Blues singer Percy Mayfield, when asked if he had written any songs.

So that’s the deal…I want to have a famous quote attributed to me.  What do I have to do?  Have you ever googled famous quotes?  There are TONS of them out there on hundreds of websites.  And the people who are responsible for these quotes?  I’ve never heard of about 75 percent of them.  So I figure I may have a chance!

Several friends of mine have kept a log of their favorite quotes, writing them down so that a good quote is not forgotten.  I first experienced this when I worked at WWCT in Peoria. There was a rolodex (a desk item that has become pretty obsolete because of the electronic age) that was on the news desk.  Whenever someone said something profound, it would go in the quote rolodex.  I only remember a couple of quotes from it (I may have photocopied them before I left ‘CT, but it’s probably in my Fun Folder, which I STILL haven’t found).  One was from Jim Reeves, our Production Director: “I hate Rush.  I also hate black holes.  I can’t do anything about either one.”  There was also one from our morning guy, Ken Johnson, that I still use to this day: “I don’t lie, you see…I fabricate.”

My friend Melodie that I work with (also referenced in the “soundtrack” blog from last week) has what started as a “quote wall” because she would write down her favorite quotes and put them up on her wall.  There have been so many contributions that it’s now a “quote book”.  Many of my quotes have ended up in there, along with several quotes from other co-workers.  There are a lot of good quotes there, far too many to mention here.

However, I’ve given it some thought, and at this point in the game, it’s this list that I may want to pull my famous quote from.  It’s not terribly profound, but just an interesting thought:

“When I die, I hope there’s an exit interview.” – Rick Halberg

Whadaya think?  Yeah,  you’re right…I think I can do better.  If you have a favorite quote, post it in the comment section.  I’d love to hear from you, especially the ones who read this blog daily.  It’s like déjà vu all over again.

Thanks for the quote, Yogi.

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You can quote me

  1. Great quote, Rick! Here’s one from me:

    “Fun flies when you’re having time.”—Marty Wombacher

  2. Melodie Keefe says:

    One of my favorites…..”I admire that you admire me!” ~ Rick Halberg 4/2010

  3. Themer says:

    “Sleep is overrated.” –Rick Halberg

    • Jim Reeves says:

      Rick:

      I might be wrong, but I think what I said was:

      –Rush sucks and black holes suck, but I can’t do anything about either one of them.–

      I, too, would like to see the quotes from the WWCT rolodex. I have actually told the rolodex story a number of times. As I recall, the tradition was begun by our News Director, Jerry. I cannot recall his last name, but he went on to get a law degree, worked for the FBI and eventually wrote a book on his prosecution of corporate crooks. He sent me a copy that I have somewhere, so it’s not just a rumor. And, at the time, I think Jerry was the only one allowed to deem a quote as rolodex-worthy.

      If you find that photocopy of the rolodex quotes, I would love to see it.

      The only other one I can remember was attributed to me, and came from a slightly-heated discussion I had with our old friend and leader, Rich Fruin, as we stood near the news desk. I recall the context well, but perhaps a great quote should not be tied to its’ original context.

      I believe my words were, “Yes, but creativity should be kept on a LONG leash”.

      And so it goes…

Leave a Reply

