Words I like

A few weeks ago, I wrote a blog entry about words I hate. It generated quite a bit of feedback, which is always most welcome. If you read the comments, you’ll see words that other people hate, but more on that later.

I’m in a more positive mood this week, so I thought I would write about words that I like. Some of these words I may like simply because of what they mean. For instance, “Friday” is a word that I like a lot, but not because it’s a cool-sounding word or anything. It’s mainly because of what it brings to mind: the end of the work week, time off, staying up as late as I want. It’s the same thing with words like pizza…music…new…sex…sunny…classic…I don’t necessarily like the way those words sound, but more what the words represent.

There are a few words that I use frequently because I like the way they sound in conversation, but not on their own. Words like “actually” and “indeed” fall into this category. I love to use these words, but only because they are a great enhancement for sentence construction. “Actually” could be on the list, but maybe just, like, the top twenty. I like the way it sounds on its own, but like it better as an enhancement. There are a few words that come to mind that would make it into my top ten. Some of them would simply be onomatopoeia, such as “boing” or “hiccup”.  Come to think of it, “onomatopoeia” is a pretty cool word on its own.

As I pondered this concept today (concept: cool word), I asked some of my friends what their favorite word would be. My friend Tricia gave me two of her favorites: “fluffy” and “fabulous”…two very good words. “Fluffy” is just plain fun to say, probably because of all the “fff”s. “Fabulous” is also a cool word…three syllables, three different vowel sounds, and soft consonants at either end. Each of these words just sort of roll off the tongue. My friend Felicia decided that “catharsis” was at the top of her list. I can’t help but agree with her…it’s a cool word. It sounds kind of latin-y, and very profound. Every once in awhile, David Letterman will have a Top Ten list that consists simply of words that sound cool when said by certain people, such as James Earl Jones. I think “catharsis” could easily be on that list. James Earl Jones would sound really cool saying “catharsis”.

As for me, it’s moot…and I don’t mean that by definition. I mean “moot” is probably my favorite word. It’s a cool word…one syllable, long “oo” sound, good hard consonants at both ends. Just say it out loud a couple of times…”moot”.  The point is “moot”. We could have spent Thanksgiving together, but it’s “moot”. You gotta admit, it’s a cool word.

Would I like to hear your favorite word?  You bet!  Just drop a note in the comments section.  Don’t wait too long, or the point will be “moot”.

Man, I love that word.

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Words I like

  1. I like the word, “schlockered.” I don’t even know if it’s a real word per se, but I still love it.

  2. Tricia says:

    fluffy. it just makes me want to jump on a mountain of clouds and then wrap myself in a blanket of cotton balls.

Leave a Reply

