A page about me

I’m STILL looking for my fun folder. In case you haven’t been reading this very long, I had a folder that I kept all through my years in radio called the “fun folder”. Anytime I got a funny idea that I put down on to paper, I put it in the fun file for safe keeping. I started looking for it a few weeks ago because I remembered something really funny in it that I thought would be fun to post here. But I can’t find it anywhere! Damn!

I am a admitted pack-rat. I have several Rubbermaid containers and even a trunk full of stuff from my past. I also have one of the greatest gifts my step-father ever gave me…a big wooden box. Cliff was a real handyman, and loved to make things out of wood. One day when we were visiting, he gave my wife and I each a big oak box with handles on the sides and a latch on the front that could hold a lock. I asked him what it was for, and he merely said, “Everybody needs a place to put their stuff.” He was a great man, and the box was a great gift.

Tonight, I was looking through the big wooden box one more time for my fun folder. As is always the case, you find all kinds of other things when you’re looking for something…except for the things you’re really looking for. I found my Cub Scout neckerchief, my stuffed dog that I get when I was in the hospital when I was 6, and even my old ball glove. Then I found a folded-up piece of paper, and curiosity got the best of me.

At the top of the page, in capital letters, it says “A PAGE ABOUT ME”.  Here is how I filled it out at that point in time:

My mother’s name is Emily Halberg

My father’s name is Carl Halberg

I have 1 brother(s). Their names are Randall Halberg

I have 1 sister(s). Their names are Carol Halberg

I have a pet dog and cat. Its name is Shep and Mitzi

The name of my school is Rutland Grade School

I am in the 2nd grade

The game I like to play is army

The TV show I like best is Batman

The book I like best is Ol’ Yeller

My best friend is Steve Allen

My best grownup friend is Tim Traver

That pretty much summed up my life in 2nd grade. It was so odd for me to see that my dad was still alive, since he was killed in October of my 2nd grade year. My best friend really was Steve Allen. He had an older sister that was the same age as my older brother. The very first day I rode the bus to kindergarten, my brother and his sister grabbed me as soon as I entered, shoved me into a seat next to Steve and said, “This is your new friend. Sit next to him.” Sure enough, we hit it off right away. He was my best friend until I moved into town, and we remained friends through high school and college. I haven’t seen him in a few years, but I’m sure we would have some great stories to tell.

My best grownup friend was actually a high school student, but he seemed grown-up to me. He was one of the Traver boys that lived on a farm about 3 miles from us. They were all in high school, and during the summer and on weekends, they would work for my dad occasionally. The last time I saw Tim was about 7 or 8 years ago at his father’s visitation. He is now an architect living in California.  

I’m always amazed when I find something like this little piece of paper. I had absolutely no idea what was ahead of me. All I cared about was playing army, watching Batman, hanging out with Steve Allen, and having Tim Traver tease me about girls.

At this moment, if I could go back in time to re-live any day of my life, it’s quite possible I would choose the day I filled out this little piece of paper. But I dunno…it would probably depend a lot on what they were having for lunch in the cafeteria that day.

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A page about me

  1. Melodie Keefe says:

    you had very nice handwritting!

Leave a Reply

