Have a cool yule

I hope everyone who reads this little blog of mine will have a great holiday, and a very awesome new year. I’m always amazed at what can happen over a period of 12 months, and I’m sure 2011 will be no different. My posts will probably be a little more sporadic over the holidays, as I’m sure readership will be. So in case I don’t post something tomorrow, I’d like to share something that was recorded by a guy named Tony Rodelle Larson in 1962. No one knows anything about him or the recording…it just exists.

“Like this is a note on what may become beat diplomacy, or how to be diplomatic for that little man in the red suit and the furs. Like a gatepost of Dunbarton Oaks, the Washington Estate which has been the setting for several international conferences…it bears a plaque that reads “Way out”.

Like it twas the night before Christmas and all through the pad,

Not a hip cat was swingin’, and that’s nowhere dad.

The stove was hung up on that stocking routine,

In hopes the fat man would soon make the scene.

The kids had all had it so they hit their sacks

And me and the bride had begun to unlax.

When there started a rumble that came on real frantic

So I opened the window to figure the panic

I saw a square short that was making fat tracks

Being pulled by eight dogs who were wearing hat racks

And a funny old geezer was flippin’ his lid

He told them to make it, and man, like they did.

I couldn’t help diggin’ the scene on the roof

As I stood there just waitin’ for Chubby to goof

They stood by the chimney in bunches and clusters

Til Tubby slid down…coming on like gangbusters

Like he was the squarest man, the most absolute

But let’s face it, who cares when he left all that loot?

He laid the jazz on me and fled from the gate

Wailin’ “Have a cool yule and man, later, like, dig”

Have a cool yule, and man, later, like…dig

Have a cool yule and man, later, like…dig

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have a cool yule

  1. Melodie Keefe says:

    AWESOME! How much fun is this!!! Merry Christmas Rick – and thanks for the great stories!

Leave a Reply

