Resolutions? We don’t need no stinking resolutions!

Let me begin by passing along my sincere wishes to all of my friends and readers for a happy and prosperous new year. Ever since the movie came out in 1994, I always think of the line that was uttered by one of Lieutenant Dan’s hooker friends in Forrest Gump (either Long Limbs Lenor or the Cunning Carla): “I just love new years. You get to start all over! Everyone deserves a second chance.”

There was a twinge of sadness in her voice when she uttered that last line. I’m always torn at new years. I am usually excited about what a new year can bring, but I can’t help but think about the things that didn’t always go according to plan in the previous year. We all have triumphs and tragedies, and I’m certainly no exception. But I find myself taking that hooker’s advice to heart, and will fight for a second chance…a chance to improve my life.

I’ve never been one to make resolutions, nor would I ever announce them to the general public so they could laugh at me when I fail. But I do tend to make some silent promises to myself, and have decided to share of few of them with you kind folks who have honored me by reading this silly little blog of mine. I don’t think I’ll be going too far out on a limb with most of these revelations.

1-I will make more of an effort to take care of my body this year. I know, this has resolution written all over it. But I’m not going to make a vow to lose weight or work out more. I’m simply going to try to eat more healthy foods, along with exercising my body and trying to get more sleep. A friend has agreed to help me with the healthy eating part. The rest is up to me.

2-I will make more progress as a writer. I finally shared the first chapter of my book with a friend who is a writer, and got some very positive feedback. It really stoked me, and now it’s full speed ahead with this project. I will be looking for an agent this year, and hopefully have something ready to publish by at least 2012.

I will also continue to contribute to this blog as time allows, and I hope to at least double my readers. That’s where YOU come in. Please feel free to subscribe if you haven’t already, and please share it with friends or anyone else who may enjoy it. You have my heartfelt gratitude.

3-I will continue to make new friendships, and do all I can to enhance existing relationships. I treasure my friends, and am blessed to have many close friends who seem to understand me. They deal with my craziness, my depression, my dependence on them as a shoulder to cry on, or a sounding board for new ideas. Without my friends, I would be lost.

4-I will continue to sharpen my skills as a musician. I need to become a better guitarist, a better singer, and a better band member. I need to devote more effort to it. And hopefully, I will start to fulfill my lifelong dream of writing and recording enough songs for an album.

There are many things I did not mention, like trying to work harder at my job, and most importantly, try to improve myself as a father, husband, son, brother, uncle, and all the other hats I wear. Those things are a constant in my life, and good or bad, I always try to give it my best shot.

So there you go. If all goes well in 2011, I will be able to read this a year from now and reflect. Most likely, I’ll be quoting a hooker from a movie…hoping for a second chance.

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolutions? We don’t need no stinking resolutions!

  1. Beth says:

    Happiest of New Years! Those are great resolutions and look a lot like my own. Can’t wait to read your book!

  2. Happy New Year, Rick! I hope we all have a great 2011 and I look forward to reading your entire book!

Leave a Reply

