What my taste buds tell me

First off, a big THANK YOU to everyone who reads this fun little blog. The last few days have seen a record number of hits, and that thrills me no end. Please continue to spread the word, and I’ll continue to crank it out! Now, on to our regularly scheduled blog entry.

We have been going to a lot of junior high basketball games this year. It’s not that we enjoy basketball all that much, especially at the junior high level, but my daughter is a cheerleader, so we go to watch her cheer. And I have to admit that I get kind of caught up in watching my kids’ friends compete with other schools. Plus, it’s a good family activity that we attend together.

That being said, I’m not sure my other two kids are as into it as I am. My other daughter goes along, but has her headphones on the whole time so she can listen to music. And instead of watching the game, she either reads a book or plays on her Nintendo DS. My son is interested in one thing, and it’s not basketball…it’s the concession stand.

This is the same kid that, when asked how he liked transferring to the high school building for junior high this school year, replied “It’s great. The food in the cafeteria is SO much better than at the grade school.” And yet, he maintains a very slim physique. So as we have visited many schools around the area during basketball season, my son has rated most of the concession stands that he has patronized. He thought about doing his own blog, but I convinced him that I could probably just do an entry for him in my blog space. He even came up with his own name for this entry (see above).

So, without further ado, the first installment of

What my taste buds tell me (my son takes it from here)

Over the past few years, I have experienced many concession stands at schools around the area, enough to know what I’m talking about. When reviewing these establishments, there is so much more to take into consideration besides the quality of the food. In my reviews, I maintain the same criteria. I usually order a hot dog if I see it on the menu, although I sometimes will order pizza by the slice. I never order a pretzel. I used the standard 5-star system to rate the following schools:

Heyworth Elementary – 4 stars: I think Heyworth has the best deals on food. Their hot dogs are pretty good and only cost a dollar, where some schools will charge $1.50 or $2.00 for a hot dog. They also occasionally have gondola sandwiches from Avanti’s, which are great. Plus, they have tables where you can sit and eat, and plenty of room for kids to run around. Their only downfall is that they sometimes run out of food too quickly. During football season, Heyworth is also famous for their walking tacos, which are second only to the pizza at Fisher football games (magnificent!).

Tri-Valley Middle School – 3 ½ stars: The people are really nice at Tri-Valley. One time they took 50 cents off my order because I didn’t quite have enough money to cover it. Their hot dogs are as good as Heyworth, but sometimes their signage is inaccurate. They will list things on the menu and not always have them there. I hate getting my taste buds ready for something, only to be disappointed. They have good pizza, too…I think it’s from Rosatti’s.

Holy Trinity School – 2 stars: This is the only time I considered getting a pretzel, but they looked darker than Heyworth, so I passed. I got a hot dog instead. It was more expensive, but larger than I expected. It was also grayer than I expected. I hate to admit this, but I didn’t finish it. It was just too gross, so I threw half of it away. To their credit, they do have a nice place to sit and room for kids to run around.

Mt. Pulaski – 2 stars: There wasn’t a very extensive menu at the home of the Hilltoppers, and hardly any hot food at all, unless you consider popcorn, which is a stretch in my opinion. Plus there was hardly any room to sit or for kids to run around. Nice people, though.

Metcalf Elementary – 1 star: I can sum this review up in three words: no hot food. Even the popcorn wasn’t that good, and the concession stand was squeezed into the corner of the gym, so pretty inconvenient…no place to sit or for kids to run around, unless you waited until halftime and ran around on the gym floor.

West Lincoln – 1 star: It’s a little hard to rate this one, since we ate at McDonalds on the way, therefore I didn’t have much to eat at the game. The people working at the concession were pretty nice, but they didn’t have much variety, and there was no place to sit or for kids to run around. Plus it took us quite awhile to get there, so I was already a little edgy. The popcorn was just ok.

Well, there you have it. You may want to print off a copy of this review for future reference…and keep an eye out for another installment of “What my taste buds tell me”!

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What my taste buds tell me

  1. Melodie Keefe says:

    Thank you for such an informative blog today! I always appreciate a good food critique – and with such great writing style!!!!

  2. Randy Halberg says:

    Eric-perhaps next time you are in Wisconsin we can do a “pizza crawl” and you can review my competitors. Always looking for an honest assessment on how we can improve

  3. Okay, here’s the idea for your son’s blog…A Guy Walks Into 365 Concession Stands! Good job on the reviews and I look forward to more installments!

  4. groovyrick says:

    Thanks Marty! I thought about him doing an “obligatory bathroom mirror shot”, but it’s been done.

Leave a Reply

