LOL

Since most of my posts this week have dealt with tragedy, I thought I would wrap up the week with a little levity. After all, it’s Friday…and if you live in the mid-section of the United States like me, it’s been a pretty messed up week weather-wise.

I was talking with my daughters last night about what is referred to as “internet slang”, although I find it more relevant to texting rather than the internet. It’s those little abbreviations that most people use when texting each other so that they don’t have to take the time to type out a whole word or phrase. Here are a few of the most common ones:

LOL – laugh out loud

LMAO – laughing my ass off

ROFL – rolling on floor laughing

GTG – got to go

TTYL – talk to you later

BTW – by the way

IMO – in my opinion

THX – thanks

Now here’s the part I didn’t discuss with the girls. I have decided to expand the internet slang dictionary to include phrases that my friends and I most commonly use. Hell, some of these may already be in use:

YS – you suck

WAD – what a dick

WAB – what a bitch

SAS – she’s a skank

SAGB – stop and get beer

SF – somebody farted

HWSIDI – he who smelt it dealt it

CM – currently masturbating

HFL – hyperventilating from laughter

MLB – melon-like breasts

URU – underwear riding up

RTRO – remember the restraining order

YHSFI – you have serious fucking issues

YEWYD – you’re easy when you’re drunk

IEWID – I’m easy when I’m drunk

IEWIS – I’m easy when I’m sober

NRPATY – not really paying attention to you

TIY – totalling ignoring you

CAA – call an ambulance

HAHA – having a heart attack

NABI – need a blog idea

If you can think of any more, leave your ideas in the comments section. Soon, we won’t need phrases at all when we text. Isn’t that what it said in the song “In the Year 2525”?

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to LOL

  1. Themer says:

    HFL. 🙂

  2. Ha ha ha! Loved yours, here’s another one:

    RAHCSOOR — Run and hide, Charlie Sheen’s out of rehab.

  3. LMFAO, even while CM. Don’t know if you have “Land-o-lakes” dairy products where you live, but a local store had a sale recently on LOL milk, which brought me a mild chuckle when I drove by the sign where they advertised it. The abbreviations all remind me of an old email where people were encouraged to use numerical “shorthand”, in the 800s so as not to be confused with company extensions, I guess, and the only one I remember is my fave, 832, which means “Go pound sand in your ass!” How about JASIHTW–Just a second, I have to wipe.

  4. groovyrick says:

    HFR = hilarious fucking reply!

  5. bellemedland says:

    Hahaha! This post just CMU (cracked me up)!! Cheers for the giggle 🙂

Leave a Reply

