Advice for new adults

I absolutely love working with interns. Maybe it’s the part of me that always wanted to be a teacher. I sincerely hope that I make a good impression on them, and that they enjoy working with me.

My current intern at work is Lacey, and she’s awesome…a hard worker and always smiling, which is always a great combination. Yesterday, Lacey turned 21, so I treated her to lunch for her birthday. During our lunch conversation, she told me that she had received an email from Student Services, or something like that. The email recognized the fact that she was turning 21, and offered “suggestions” on how to celebrate. Here are just two or three that I remember:

-Go with your friends to see a movie.

-Invite friends over to play cards.

-If you must drink alcohol, remember to have three glasses of water between each drink.

Those are great suggestions…if you’re the geekiest geek on the planet. Come on! This person is TURNING 21!!! They are becoming an ADULT!!! They need to start learning LIFE LESSONS, like “you’ll throw up if you drink too much”, or “what it’s like inside a police station”…or the dreaded “how the hell did I get HERE???”

Ah, I remember turning 21. I was fortunate enough to enroll in a program at the college I went to that allowed me to get my bachelor’s degree in 3 years. And since my birthday falls in the second week in May, how’s this for timing: my last class in college was on a Tuesday, my 21st birthday was on Friday, and graduation was on Saturday. Oh, what a week it was. I can’t remember much of it, and I consider that a victory. I think I remember a little bit of Thursday, but that’s about it.

So I decided to pass along my own “suggestions” on

How To Celebrate Your 21st Birthday

1 – Don’t make plans to go to certain places and do certain things…plans can only get messed up. Part of becoming an adult is learning to “go with the flow” so to speak. Just make sure you have your name and address in your purse or wallet, or possibly sewn into your coat for identification purposes.

2 – Only go out with a group of trusted friends. Remember, it’s quite possible that you could cross that line from “friend” to “entertainment”. Close friends won’t let you do anything terribly embarrassing because it can always come back to them on their next birthday. If you go out with people you’re not very tight with, you’re gonna end up on the internet, and it’s going to be pretty damn awkward when a prospective employer says “I think I recognize you from YouTube…was it hard to go to the bathroom the next day?”

3- Tell everyone you encounter that it’s your 21st birthday. It can lead to anything from free drinks to free food to free whatever. That’s another one of those “life lessons”…trying to decipher what’s “good free” and “bad free”. “Good free” is getting a beer and not having to pay for it. “Bad free” is…well, let’s just say that not paying for something doesn’t necessarily make it a good thing. The doctor will explain that as he or she is writing out the prescription for the salve.

4 – Don’t take your cell phone. The last thing you want is to spend the next couple of days trying to explain a drunk dial or a drunk text. If you wouldn’t say it to their face sober, then don’t try to tell someone how much you “LOOOOOVVVVVEEEEE’ them when you’re shitfaced.

5 – Greasy McDonalds food is great hangover medicine.

And that’s something every adult should know.

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Advice for new adults

  1. Happy birthday to Lacey! I wish I could remember my 21st birthday…but then again I wish I could remember last night. Or maybe it’s best that I can’t.

  2. bellemedland says:

    I remember NOTHING of my 21st (or 18th for that matter – which is when we Brits are considered an ‘adult’). In fact, I think the last birthday I remember (before hitting 25 and the hangovers stepped it up a gear, making me realise drinking just isn’t as fun as it used to be) was my 16th! 17th right through to 24th are a complete blur. But that’s cool; knowing what I am like drunk (video footage and subsequent week hiding from the world in bed) I probably wouldn’t want to remember anyway!
    Great post – again 🙂

  3. Melodie Keefe says:

    I was trying to remember my 21st birthday……still trying…….not sure about my 22nd, 23rd, 24th…..

  4. Lacey the intern says:

    Rick, awesome post and gave me a laugh! Taking those suggestions into consideration for sure haha!

  5. LMAO again. It wasn’t a birthday way long time ago; it was a softball tourney after which I was drinking with my sis and her “worthless ex number 2”, and they let me drive home, and the next morning I woke up on the floor of my own bedroom going, “what the hell, am I sleeping on the floor of my sister’s van? And why are some of the books I’m reading here, of all places, and who threw up one of of ’em..ohhh, now I get it.” Yeah, ick. For serious advice for any b-day, I would say keep your hand on your own drink, even take it with you to the bathroom.

Leave a Reply

