Ten Things That I Think

May 9th is my birthday, and I think that deserves some sort of entitlement. Since I wasn’t blogging on my last birthday, this will be my first annual

TEN THINGS THAT I THINK

1-Most people that I know, myself included, fall into two categories: Coke people and Pepsi people. Personally, I am a Coke person. I will sometimes choose a restaurant based mainly on whether they offer Coke or Pepsi as their only soft drink. When my son and I stopped at a convenience store after his track meet, I noticed that most convenience stores now offer about 12 different kinds of soda, including Coke and Pepsi products. Why can’t restaurants follow suit? I would eat at Taco Bell a lot more if I could have a Diet Coke instead of Diet Pepsi. If you are a restaurant owner, consider it…I am convinced it may boost your business.

2-Grocery stores and department stores should have one full-time person on staff to inspect and repair their shopping carts daily, even on weekends. Who isn’t annoyed when they get a shopping cart with a gimpy wheel? I would love to go to Cub Foods and see a sign with someone’s picture that says “Shopping cart technician on duty today: Tony”. Then I could shop with confidence, and if a wheel goes bad out in the middle of the store, I could push a nearby emergency button and Tony would come out with a loaner.

3-No one should make over a million dollars a year…period. Can you imagine where this country would be if we put a one million dollar ceiling on salaries? I could take my entire family to an NFL game or a MLB game and not have to fill out a credit app for tickets and concessions. Cars may actually become affordable. Seriously, who needs more than a million dollars a year to live comfortably? A person making $500,000 a year could still look down on me socially.

4-I think America has outlived the two-party system. I get so tired of democrats or republicans voting against something just because the other party came up with it. Furthermore, each candidate should have a set budget, a salary cap if you will, to get their message to the people. With this kind of system, the person with more money wouldn’t immediately have an advantage over those with a smaller budget.  

5-Birthdays should be a national holiday, and the person having the birthday should automatically get a paid day off…same with kids in school. Does it make sense that kids take off on Washington’s,Lincoln’s and King’s birthday and they have to go to school on their own birthday? Whose birthday do you think means more to them? I respect and admire Washington, Lincoln and King, but I don’t care about when they were born. If someone gets that day off, do they reflect on the lives of these American leaders? Nope.

6-Radio needs to be fixed. Listening to the radio is an international institution, but one that will eventually disappear if they don’t get their asses in gear and fix it. People say that satellite radio is better, and radio is outdated because music is so much more available now. Bullshit. If you give people a reason to listen to the radio, they will listen. I really think anyone over the age of 30 misses good radio. Bring back personality radio! Are you gonna want to listen to your satellite or I-Tunes if you see a funnel cloud coming toward your house?

7-I have the greatest neighbors in the world. I was talking to Lance from across the street around 7:30 pm, and told him it was my birthday. He asked me what kind of cake I was having, but I informed him that my wife hadn’t had time to make one for me yet. I told him that I was hoping for pineapple upside-down cake or a pecan pie. He called me at 10:15 pm and told me that he and his wife had just finished making me a pecan pie…did I want it when it came out of the oven tonight or first thing in the morning? They’re the best!

8-No matter how open-minded I try to be about music, I just cannot get into rap. I would rather listen to opera. If it’s a toss-up between rap and country, I’ll just rely on head-tunes.

9-If you have ever suffered through a lonely or otherwise depressing birthday, have kids. They create so much excitement and happiness on your special day that it totally dwarfs any problem you might have.

10-“Hey Western Union Man” by Jerry Butler is one of the greatest songs on the planet. I can never come up with “my favorite song of all time”, but this one would have to be considered. Enjoy.

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ten Things That I Think

  1. Beth says:

    Happy Birthday, my friend. Since you have a Monday birthday, celebrate the whole week. Seems only fair.

  2. Kristi Zimmerman says:

    I LOVE this post … thoughtful neighbors are the best.

    You are truly a one-of-a-kind dude, Ricko. Hope you had a wonderful birthday – I’m sorry I missed it. We need to schedule a PSC reunion when I am in b-town next. I miss you and the rest of the committee!

  3. Happy birthday, Rick. Pepsi’s better though, ha ha. Great neighbors. And, I can’t say it enough, there’s just no excuse for rap. It’s an abomination.

  4. Happy Birthday, Rick. Those sound like great neighbors! And beer (any kind) trumps Coke or Pepsi! I hope you had some on your birthday!

  5. Melinda says:

    I so agree about the grocery carts, two-party system, salaries and birthdays…now I’m starting to get scared that we think so much alike! 🙂

    Oh, and what great neighbors. Mine are good, but I don’t think they would whip up a pecan pie for me at the last minute. I love pecan pie!

Leave a Reply

