Let’s get random

You know, when you get right down to it, life is pretty dang random. Oh, maybe not all the time, but for the most part, pretty random. With this thought in mind, let’s get on the random train and take it to Randomville for some good ‘ol fashioned randomness.

Random thought 1: Enough already with famous people having affairs. You know what? In the time it takes to read this blog, millions of people all over the world will get laid. Know what else?  Some of them will be having sex with someone other than their spouse. Are each of those people going to have their faces and names plastered all over CNN?  Nope. Know why? Because NO ONE CARES if you’re just an average Joe or Jane and you’re gettin’ some. Good for you! I don’t know about your experiences, but I’ve always rather enjoyed sex, and considered it a good thing. Should our nation’s leaders be held to a different standard because they got caught having sex? I understand that people are worried about whether David Petraeus let go of some government secrets in the heat of passion. If he’s like everyone else, I’m sure he was talking to God more than anything, if ya catch my drift. As the saying goes, if you wanna run naked through town, go for it…if you wanna run naked through my living room, THAT concerns me.  David Petraeus having sex with someone doesn’t concern me.

Random thought 2: This thought comes from my good friend and neighbor, Lance. We were talking over the weekend, and he said (as politically correctly as possible, ‘cause that’s the way Lance rolls) “Whatever happened to all the blind entertainers? There don’t really seem to be any new ones.” After giving it a little thought, I had to agree. We started coming up with famous blind entertainers from the past…Ray Charles, Stevie Wonder, Jose Feliciano, Ronnie Milsap, Jeff Healey, Sammy Davis Jr (half credit)…that used to be something that would really get a performer noticed. The fact that they had that kind of challenge, and were still able to perform better than most other musicians amazed us. We thought “what a great storyline for American Idol” or any one of those talent-search programs that are all the rage these days. Can you imagine a blind dancer on “Dancing with the Stars?”  The viewers would eat it up! Blind Survivor? Why not? Enough said…I fear I’m starting to tread too close to the “good taste” boundry. Thanks for the contribution, Lance!

Random thought 3: Have you ever wondered what happened to instruments that were used by famous people or on famous recordings…or am I just a music geek? I remember my friend Mike, at one time, owned the clavinet that created the signature sound on “Tell Me Something Good” by Rufus. And my friend Mark who owns a recording studio in Champaign once had a mellotron that was owned by the Moody Blues. I read that the woodblock that made the haunting sound in Marvin Gaye’s “Mercy Mercy Me” was stolen almost immediately after it was used on the recording. No one knows who took it or where it is today. So whatever happened to James Jamerson’s Precision Bass? Or Rory Gallagher’s Strat? Duane Allman’s Les Paul? My friend Joe played in a blues band with Richard Hite, whose older brother was Bob “Bear” Hite of Canned Heat. Richard said that when ‘Heat guitarist Al Wilson died, the rest of the band members turned into scavengers who grabbed whatever they could, including his guitars and equipment. The bass that Larry Taylor played at Woodstock during Canned Heat’s legendary performance was in Richard’s possession when he died in 2001. According to Joe, Richard’s ex-wife still has the bass and is looking for the highest bidder. To her, it’s just a way to make money. I’m sure that many of these legendary instruments, like Eddie Cochran’s Gretsch guitar, eventually end up at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum. Pity…I’ll never see them.

Random thought 4: A couple of weeks ago, during a break at a Lem n Lime gig, I was talking to a couple of Buddy Holly fans. I mentioned that I met a guy one time who said he had seen Holly perform live with the Crickets in 1958. The three of us were astounded! Buddy Holly was around for such a short time that it seemed incredible that someone had actually seen him live. Since that Friday night a couple of weeks ago, I started thinking about performers I would like to have seen before death made it impossible. Here is the list I came up:

a-The Beatles on their second tour of the US.

b-The Who at Woodstock

c-Creedence Clearwater Revival circa 1969 (Tom Fogerty is dead, so this qualifies. I saw John Fogerty in the late 80’s when he was still refusing to play CCR tunes in concert. He was ok. I was actually more impressed with Delbert McClinton, who opened the show that night. I even mentioned how much I enjoyed McClinton’s set to Fogerty when I met him backstage. Instead of being taken aback, he merely agreed and said “Isn’t he great? Now that’s MY kinda music!”)

d-Chicago circa 1972 with Terry Kath

e-Buddy Holly and the Crickets in either late 1957 or early 1958.

f-Eddie Cochran circa 1959

g-Queen on the “Day at the Races” tour

h-Al Green circa 1973

i-Led Zeppelin on the “Physical Graffiti” tour

j-Otis Redding at the Monterrey Pop Festival

There, that’s ten. Can you come up with more? Let’s hear ‘em. And if you have random ideas that you would like to contribute, please feel free! For his recent contribution, my friend Lance will receive an official Groovy Rick coffee mug!  Does anyone know if Sharpee comes off in the dishwasher?

About groovyrick

I live in a small town in Illinois with my wife and three kids. I am a part-time musician, part-time writer, and full-time dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s get random

  1. ddtherrm says:

    Bob Marley at the US Festival, Alice Cooper in 1973, Ray Charles twice(once using, once without) Bob Wills

  2. Tara Desmond says:

    Random thought: Why is it no longer acceptable for sailors to be in the streets in their uniforms whistling? I’d love to see a sailor one of these days just humming and whistling along.

    Another random: why is it that people say “I have a question” and then ask the question? Do they think the answeree would be soo thrown off by just the straight question?

    Another random: What is the limit of denim? When do you know you’ve hit that limit?

Leave a Reply

